Lemon Shrimp Scampi

Welcome BSD food tourists!  You’re not the crowd that I usually cater to (no pun intended), but I’m happy to have you here.

While I was making this for dinner Monday night, Jeff asked if he could feature the recipe on this week’s “Snacks on Snacks” post.  Correct me if I’m wrong, but I thought the whole point of Snacks on Snacks was to make food that is tailgate or football party-friendly, since you are after all, a football blog?  When I asked this very same question to Jeff all I was told was that I “didn’t understand the nature of Snacks on Snacks.”

No, no I don’t.  But apparently Jeff thinks this meets the mysterious and elusive requirements.  Honestly, I think it was the intoxicating allure of garlic and butter simmering in the kitchen that drunkenly convinced him that this would be a good football blog recipe.  I DO have some recipes that would be really tasty for those types of events (for example, Spicy Sliders, Roasted Artichoke Dip, Jalapeno Lime Dip, and Tailgate Blondies).  Please try to ignore the shameless self-promotion (…but no really, go check those out.)

At the end of the day, I am happy to share my Shrimp Scampi recipe with you.  It’s really very simple and delicious.  And yes, you could even watch football while eating it.

First, bring a large pot of salted water to boil.  Cook linguine according to al dente, depending on box instructions.

In a large heavy bottomed pan, melt the butter and olive oil together on medium-low heat.  Add the minced garlic and sauté for about 1 minute, stirring occasionally to prevent the garlic from burning.

Add the shrimp, salt and pepper, and cook until the shrimp have turned pink, with a flip halfway through, about 5 minutes.

Side point:  If you’re asking yourself “why do those shrimp look so goofy?” it’s because their tails have been removed.  While this generally is a frowned upon practice in the culinary world, my poor husband cries and cries if I don’t take them off before serving shrimp to him.  He’s like a little 28-year-old child that needs his wife to cut up his meat for him….(JK Jeff!, but no, really…)

Remove the pan from the heat and add in the parsley, lemon zest, lemon juice, lemon slices, and red pepper flakes.  Toss to combine.

Once the pasta has finished cooking, drain in a colander and add to the sauce, tossing to combine.

That’s it.   Serve and enjoy!

Ingredients

  • 3/4 pound linguine
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons good olive oil
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons minced garlic (4 cloves)
  • 1 pound large shrimp (about 16 shrimp), peeled and deveined (tail removal optional…)
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/3 cup chopped fresh parsley leaves
  • 1/2 lemon, zest grated
  • 1/4 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1/4 lemon, thinly sliced in half-rounds
  • hot red pepper flakes (amount to your liking, I use a lot!)

Yields about 3 servings

Recipe Adapted from Barefoot Contessa

And remember….

 “Those Who Stay Will Be Champions…”

...Well maybe not everyone

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Pasta, Recipes, Seafood

Follow me!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “Lemon Shrimp Scampi”

  1. September 27, 2011 at 6:30 pm #

    Fantastic, this dish looks genuinely incredible. Yum.

Leave a comment