Have You Heard of Stitch Fix?

Timeout.  Momentary break from cooking posts because I want to introduce you all to my latest obsession….

STITCH FIX!

What is Stitch Fix, you ask?  WELL.  Stitch Fix is a fashion styling service through the mail.  First you sign up HERE (if you use this link, I get a $25 credit 🙂 )and sit on the wait list for a few weeks (I think it was about 3 weeks for me).  In the mean time, you can fill out a bunch of fun questions about your personal style, including what you normally wear, what you never wear, and what you’d like to try to wear.  You can even give personal notes to your stylist about what you’d like to see in your fixes or even refer them to your Fashion board on Pinterest! (here’s mine!)

I love the idea of someone taking this input and personally selecting fashion pieces for me.  I find that often I get into a fashion rut and often pick so many of the same styles of clothes.  If you’re anything like me, you need to be PUSHED out of your comfort zone to consider things you might never give a second glance in the store.

And of course, what isn’t fun about getting surprise packages in the mail!?

How does it work?  Once you get off the wait list, you can schedule a fix as frequently as you want.  Each fix has a $20 styling fee, but this gets applied towards the cost of any of the 5 items you might choose to keep.  If you decide to keep all 5 items, you get 25% off the entire order!  Shipping is free both ways and you have 3 days to decide whether to keep the items.

What are the benefits? First, you get to try things on in the comfort of your own home, mixing and matching the pieces with items you already own in your closet to see if this is an item that will make sense for YOU (not to mention, you know which MIRROR to use!).  Second, Stitch Fix includes styling cards with each item in your “fix” to show you different ways how to wear the item.  This is the sort of thing I desperately need help with.  Often, I will see some woman with a scarf as a purse, a hat as a shoe, and a belt as a bandana….and she will look fabulously put together.  OK, so I’ve exaggerated for effect, but what I’m trying to say is that I don’t always “think outside the box” when it comes to fashion.  Last but not least, supposedly it gets better over time.  If you have a total dud of a fix, you give detailed critiques back to your stylist about where they fell short, and supposedly they learn from their mistakes.

I can’t verify this because my very first Fix is scheduled to be delivered shortly!

I referred my stylist to my Pinterest board, filled out the style questions, and asked my stylist to “Please send me fun pieces for Spring!”

Of course, I will post my first FIX as soon I get it, so stay tuned for the results!

Tags: , ,

Categories: Life

Follow me!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My First Fix! | Steeltown Delicious - March 3, 2013

    […] my previous post – I gave a detailed explanation about what Stitch Fix is and how it works here.  In a nut shell, Stitch Fix is an online styling service that sends you new clothes in a […]

Leave a comment