Whiskey Mustard Meatballs

DSC_0062  - edit

Anyone who has read this blog before knows my love of cooking with booze.  Bourbon, Liqueur  Rum…you name it.  This is the first time I’ve tried cooking with my good old buddy, Jack.  Jack Daniels that is…  I assure you, he does not disappoint.

I recently found myself in an appetizer rut, relying on a few trusty recipes, but not really branching out in my culinary cocktail party offerings.  While flipping through my new copy of The Pioneer Woman’s “Food From  My Frontier” I stumbled upon her recipe for Whiskey-Mustard Meatballs, and with my love of booze-cooking, I had to give it a shot.

I’ve been going through a little bit of a “hummus for dinner” rut lately, but this weekend I finally recognized how much I missed cooking and blogging.  However, since I’ve recently been searching for new and innovative appetizers, I decided to make what I have since coined “Appetizer Dinner.”  Instead of a making a traditional meal, I pitted 3 new appetizer recipes against each other in an epic culinary showdown and allowed my tasters to designate a winner.

This was the resounding favorite.

Make them.  Make them now.

Start by combining the beef, pork, bread crumbs, egg, salt and pepper and 1/4 cup of the spicy mustard in a bowl with your big old meat hooks (aka hands) until well combined.

DSC_0169 - edit

Use a cookie scoop or teaspoon to form uniform, round meatballs.  Place on a cookie sheet and freezer for 10 to 15 minutes to firm them up a little.

DSC_0017 - edit

Heat the canola oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat, and cook the meatballs in batches, turning them so that they brown evenly all over.  Each batch should take about 5 to 7 minutes.  Remove each batch of meatballs to a plate until ready to use.

Using the same skillet you browned the meatballs in, pour the whiskey and beef broth into the skillet and cook for 3 to 5 minutes, until slightly thicker.  Then stir in the remaining mustard and Worcestershire sauce and cook for a few more minutes.  Pour the heavy cream in and stir to combine.

Add the browned meatballs back into the sauce and simmer for 5 to 7 minutes until the meatballs are cooked through.

DSC_0027 - edit

Throw a toothpick in each meatball and serve!

Ingredients

  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 1 pound ground pork
  • 1 1/2 cups panko bread crumbs
  • 1 egg
  • Salt and Pepper
  • 1/2 cup spicy mustard
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil
  • 1 cup whiskey
  • 3 cups beef broth
  • 3 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 cup heavy cream

Makes about 30 1-inch meatballs

Original Recipe, The Pioneer Woman Food From My Frontier”

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Appetizers/Snacks, Recipes

Follow me!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “Whiskey Mustard Meatballs”

  1. December 10, 2012 at 4:35 pm #

    Excellent post. I have the honour of being a ‘Tennessee Squire’, a distinction bestowed upon me about 25 years ago by the people of Lynchburg, Tennessee. This is a great honour in Jack Daniels circles. For a time, I handled the advertising for JD in Ireland and was nominated by the distributer over here. Each year, I used to get occasional letters telling me of coon hunts that ran across my land (an unspecified plot) and such like. All good fun. The bonus was a Jack Daniels calendar every December. Their enthusiasm for it seems to have wained over the years but, I still own that unspecified plot in Lynchburg.
    Best,
    Conor

    • December 10, 2012 at 6:08 pm #

      Cool title! To be honest, whiskey is something I have a hard time drinking straight up, but I do love the flavor when cooked into food. Go figure 🙂

  2. Anonymous
    December 12, 2012 at 11:35 am #

    I ate these meatballs (and kind of helped make them). They are one of the best appetizers I have ever eaten. Erin is my wonder girlfriend but I am not just saying this to score some points with her… 🙂 These meatballs were my roommate’s favorite as well.

Leave a Reply

