Savory, Sweet Pumpkin Pecan Spread

A couple of weeks ago, my mom came to Pittsburgh from Michigan to visit for the weekend.  In addition to nice dinners out and decorating the house for Christmas, we also did what we do best.  SHOP.

As luck would have it, we wandered in to Williams Sonoma this particular trip.  We were immediately hit with a wall of delicious “Autumn” smells.  Apples, pumpkin, cinnamon, nutmeg…..you know the smells.  I steered myself over to the “free samples” area where they were brewing some sort of cider, and also offering a strange-looking dip.  What they were sampling was Pecan Pumpkin Dip.   While I was hesitant at first, my taste buds started to do a little dance as soon as I tried it.  While the pumpkin butter and cream cheese are undeniably sweet, the bacon and scallions wake up the savory side of the dip and help it from being a total dessert spread.

Well of course we had to get some of this delightful, pecan pumpkin butter so we could recreate this at home.  My mom and I each made the dip at our respective Thanksgivings and we both came to the same conclusion:  This dip is better the SECOND day.  Day 1 you couldn’t really taste the bacon bits and you weren’t really sure if they were adding anything to the spread.  By day 2, the smoky and savory aspects of the bacon had worked its way into the overall flavor.

Bacon.  Yum.

If you enjoy flavors that satisfy your savory and sweet craving simultaneously, make this now!  I served with crackers and apples, but this would work well with pretzels, and any other number of sides.  At the end of the day, they are really just the vessel for the dip to get to your mouth 🙂

The instructions are really pretty basic…

Buy some of this right now:

Unfortunately, it’s only available seasonally at Williams Sonoma, but I haven’t done any research to see if it can be purchased elsewhere.

I will copy the instructions exactly as given to me by the store, on a teeny, tiny piece of paper:

“Mix ingredients together until well blended.  Serve with crackers, apple slices, crudites, etc.”

Seriously….that was it.

My addendum to these instructions are: “Best made the day before…” and “Allow the dip to come to room temperature before serving.”

Ingredients

  • 4 oz Muirhead Pecan Pumpkin Butter
  • 8 oz Cream Cheese, softened
  • 3 strips of bacon, cooked & diced
  • 2 green onions, finely diced
  • 1 cup pecans, chopped

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Appetizers/Snacks, Dips, Recipes

Follow me!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “Savory, Sweet Pumpkin Pecan Spread”

  1. Tara
    April 26, 2013 at 1:47 pm #

    I am making this recipe but I’m wondering how many people your recipe feeds. I’m making it for a shower of about 30-40 people and wondering how much butter I should buy. Granite Bay Farms sells the butter in 8oz jars. Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

