Dark Knight in Pittsburgh!

Bam! KAPOW!

If you’re living in the Pittsburgh area these days, you’ll know that Pittsburghers are caught up with Batman Fever!

Since PA passed a law a few years ago that offers tax breaks to filmmakers, Hollywood has flocked to Pittsburgh to film their movies here.  Some of the more recent films have included She’s Out of my League (2010), Unstoppable (2010), The Next Three Days (2010), and Smart People (2008)…among many others.

By far the most exciting movie ever to come to Pittsburgh is the next chapter of the Christopher Nolan Batman Series, The Dark Knight Rises.

Earlier in the summer, myself and some of my coworkers went down and tried to get cast as an extra in the film.  We stood in line for four hours (along with thousands of other Batman fans) just to fill out a form and have our picture taken.

I'm ready for my close up!

Of course by the time we got to the front of the line, they made it a point to say that they needed “far more men than women”  for the film.  DRAT!  Needless to say, I’m still waiting for my call, Mr. Nolan.

Filming began in late July in locations all across the city.  Well imagine my surprise when I walked out of Starbucks with my skinny caramel latte this morning and I spotted the BAT MOBILE (Tumbler, for you nerds out there…).  I sprinted down the street in heels, very lady-like I might add…. and ran to snap a picture on my cell phone.  I was pretty much as close as you can get!  I walked down the street as the Tumbler drove next to me – Insane!

The Bat Tumbler!

As it turns out, they are actually filming on the street across from my building all day today.  After snapping a few pictures from the street, I went upstairs to behold a SNOWY Gotham Street – on a hot AUGUST day!

Needless to say, as a true Batman nerd, I am as giddy as a school girl today.  I fully expect to spend most of the day staring out the window, waiting for something cool to happen (although it might be hard to beat running into the Bat Tumbler…).  I’m holding out for a Joseph Gordon Levitt, Anne Hathaway, or Christian Bale sighting.  Or just watching a really cool fight scene.

I will keep updating this post throughout the day if anything cool happens, Stay tuned!!

**UPDATE**

1:30pm:  Have actually been pretty disappointed with the level of activity going down on the street.  This morning they filmed the tumbler driving down the street.  A camera on a crane drove along with it.  I’m sure in the movie they will make it look like it is going a million miles per hour, but in reality, it was more like  15 mph.  Supposedly, they have the street blocked off until 5 am tomorrow morning, so it’s probably likely that they are setting up for another shot, possibly this evening.  Starting to doubt that it will happen before I leave for the day.

For future Pittsburgh Downtown Shooting locations, check out this website:  http://www.beforethetrailer.com/tag/the-dark-knight-rises-aka-magnus-rex-filming-locations-in-august-in-pittsburgh/

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Life, Pittsburgh

Follow me!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “Dark Knight in Pittsburgh!”

  1. Kristyn Dinger
    August 10, 2011 at 11:05 am #

    Very cool! Hey Erin just wanted to let you know that I am loving the blog! I can’t wait to try out some of these recipes and I am actually going to go get an America’s Test Kitchen cookbook after work today! Pretested recipes are always the best. I showed mom the site last night and signed her up for it too.

    Hope all is well and keep the great posts coming!

    • August 10, 2011 at 11:57 am #

      Thanks Kristyn! Hope you are having a nice summer 🙂 Stay tuned next week for the arrival of the puppy, Lucy!

  2. Chelsea Stuberg
    August 15, 2011 at 4:09 pm #

    I saw Joseph Gordon Levitt and Christopher Nolan! I wish I had known you were a Batman fan, I would have dragged you down there with me during lunch!

Leave a Reply

