Grilled Flat-Iron Steak with Chimichurri Sauce

If you read my last post, you know that Jeff and I are going to the lake next week, which means…bathing suits.  Like most women in America, I have a love/hate relationship with bathing suits.    You can’t swim in the lake without a bathing suit (well, you can, but that’s a little weird…) and you hate to put on a bathing suit if you aren’t feeling and looking your best.

My quest to slim down continues, although I will admit that I’m not following Dukan as strictly as I was at first.  I’m back to my normal weight and anything else I lose will be just be “bonus” weight loss.  And let’s face it, it’s just really hard not to drink beers and eat burgers in the summertime.  During the week though, I still try to maintain the fundamentals of the diet.

This recipe is incredibly tasty and Dukan-friendly (minus the olive oil…but I think a little in moderation is OK).

Start by prepping the marinade: Mix together vinegar, salt, minced garlic, shallot, and jalapeno.  The original pepper calls for a Fresno chile or red jalapeno.  I couldn’t find either, so I used a green jalapeno.  It still provided the necessary kick to the marinade.

Chop up your cilantro, oregano, and parsley.  This is where the bulk of your flavor will come from – no sugars, no fats!

Stir the herbs into the vinegar mixture and whisk in the olive oil.  Remove about a 1/2 cup of the marinade to use a sauce after cooking the meat.

Add your steak to a dish and toss it with the marinade.  Cover and chill for at least 3 hours or overnight.

Once you are ready to cook your steak, use a paper towel to wipe off the majority of the marinade and pat the steak dry.  Season again with salt and pepper.

Heat your grill and cook your steak about 3 to 4 minutes on each side, for medium-rare.

Transfer the steak to a carving board and let rest for 5 to 10 minutes.  Slice thin and serve with the reserved sauce.

Guilt-free bliss!

Ingredients for Marinade:

  • 1/2 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt plus more
  • 3–4 garlic cloves, thinly sliced or minced
  • 1 shallot, finely chopped
  • 1 Fresno chile or red jalapeño, finely chopped (I used green jalapeno – still yummy!)
  • 2 cups minced fresh cilantro
  • 1 cup minced fresh flat-leaf parsley
  • 1/3 cup finely chopped fresh oregano
  • 3/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
Makes about 2 cups of marinade.  This marinade would work on all different cuts of beef – I used a Flat-Iron.

Recipe Adapted from Bon Appetit, July 2011

Pin It

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Grilling, Meat, Recipes

Follow me!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

